Bread Dough Toxicosis

February 17, 2014

Bread Dough Toxicosis

Did you know that you can kill your dog if you let them eat uncooked bread dough?  I didn’t – and almost learned the hard way.

I’m in my mid-40’s, so sleeping through the night is a thing of the past.  I woke up around 4:30 and headed to the bathroom.  I came out a few minutes later to discover there was something wrong with Grace, my blue-headed white collie.  I don’t function too well at 4:30 in the morning so it took me a few moments to figured out she couldn’t get up.  I picked her up and she had no control over her body – she flopped like a fish.  I laid her out on the bed and started assessing her for an injury – her back had to be broken, right?

There were no injuries – her capillary recovery in her gums was good, but her pupils were blown wide open.  I cried (bawled) – I’m not the richest person in the world, so going to the ER vet is not something I can do lightly.  Then Grace burped.

Oh crap…

Yes, I knew the dogs had eaten a loaf of bread dough, but I thought it had been the puppies – the two 14 month old terrorists that I desperately need to spend some time training.  They’re whom I caught with the bowl as the oven was heating up.  Mavis’ no knead Dutch oven crusty bread dough had been sitting in the microwave doing its thing for the day and I’d pulled it out, formed the dough ball to rise one last time before going into my pre-heated, brand new 5-quart Dutch oven purchased just for this occasion.  But no, Grace is the counter surfer extraordinaire – she ate the dough and I didn’t know about it until her idiot daughters started banging the bowl around.

Double crap…

Okay, now I know what’s wrong – so I googled “raw bread dough dogs”.  Google it if you have dogs.  IT.WILL.SCARE.THE.HELL.OUT.OF.YOU…  I’d texted my veterinarian friend earlier, but she hadn’t responded so I knew she was asleep – it was 5:00 in the bloody morning by then – she should have been asleep.  I called her –  I told her what was going on with Grace. She said take her to the ER Vet now and told me where it was (I’ve never been, I have her!).  I said something else – she said GO NOW.  When your friend who has been a veterinarian for forever and a day says go NOW – you go.

We went – that’s another story, but essentially she had a very expensive blood test which told us her kidneys were normal and liver was slightly elevated (and a bunch of other things were slightly out of whack).  They gave her IV fluids and then she started burping and farting.  I’ve never been happier to have a burping and farting dog.

The vet said bloat was not an issue as the dough had already moved through her stomach into her lower GI tract.  We were allowed to go home and she puked in the car.  I don’t care – My dog didn’t die – thank you, God.

However, at 5:00 in the afternoon she was still drunk as a skunk.  Now, at almost 9:00 PM, she’s still buzzed but able to stumble around like a respectable drunk instead of being unable to move.  I’ll take it.

The moral of the story

If you’re going to make your own bread and you have dogs, ALWAYS put it back into the microwave to rise.  The counter ISN’T safe.  I think the top of the fridge would be, but there’s no room on mine.

Please, save yourself and your beloved doggie the trauma we went through this morning.   I don’t know how long it’s going to take Grace to sober up, but she’s going to have one hell of a hangover…

003

A Drunk Grace, BUT An Alive Grace

One Response to “Bread Dough Toxicosis”


  1. Update. Grace didn’t sober up for 26 hours…


Leave a Reply

